Miss Petaluma On…POOLSIDE CHIC


Having survived the bleak mid-winter –  constant chill with anything from snow, wind, rain and today hail – I’ve quite naturally started to  think about my summer holidays.  In fact, it’s that time of year cruise  adverts begin to dot every ad break and the beach diet battle  commences.   Don’t get me wrong I’m somewhat selective when it comes to destinations (8am bar crawls and foam parties are not my idea of fun)  but either way, as long as it’s hot, my priorities lie firmly with looking glamorous Diana Ross- Jackie Collins style by the pool – well life is too short not to wear a big floppy hat and red lipstick on the beach.

Retro Black Beauty Pageant

I’m traditionally a bikini girl, but over the years I’ve come to appreciate the humble swimming costume.  Now, I’m not talking about the uniform-standard navy speedo – with my name labelled in the back –  i’,m talking about cocktail forgiving, hourglass giving poolside extravaganzas, the multi-tasking types with hidden tummy control as well as fancy straps to give you odd suntans.   I found this gorgeous snap online of a black beauty pageant from the early 60s in Britain.  In those days, these women would have been  called horrible names on the street and described as monkeys etc etc in the media, but had the self-confidence to get on that stage and say “Hey we’re beautiful too”.  I love this photo, how beautiful they all look, the combination of afros, plaits and hot-combed hair, their poses and most importantly their very chic swimming costumes.

It’s not an easy task , however,  you settle yourself on a lounger feeling great one minute and the next, throw your kaftan back on, as a stream of model-ready beauties strut by – it’s a pageant indeed.  So,  taking inspiration from these ladies’  effortless glamour, here’s my candidates for winning poolside chic – tiara, sash and tears optional.

Miss Kenya

Miss Grenada

Miss South Africa

Miss Jamaica

Miss Costa Rica

Miss Ghana

2 Responses to “Miss Petaluma On…POOLSIDE CHIC”

  1. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly helpful
    & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to present one thing again and
    help others like you aided me.

  2. you’re really a just right webmaster. The web site loading velocity is amazing. It sort of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. In addition, The contents are masterwork. you’ve done a magnificent process in this topic!

    my web-site: website ( Herman – http://url.org/bookmarks/tiresomepatchwo05 )

Leave a Reply

